COLLOQUIUM. Interreligious Interactions in South Asia (second colloquium)

Data evento: 3 – 12 April 2024 Indirizzo: Online

Interreligious Interactions in South Asia: Second Colloquium

We are delighted to announce our second colloquium on “Interreligious Interactions in South Asia,” which will take place over Zoom from April 3 to April 12, 2024. Please find the flyer and program of our colloquium as attachments here. The speakers for our colloquium are as follows:

 

Afsar Mohammad | Vernacular Sufi Texts and Hindu-Muslim Contexts

April 3, 2024 | 16:00–17:30 BST / 11:00–12:30 EDT / 20:30–22:00 IST

 

Purnima Dhavan | Resisting Religious Labels in Early Modern Punjab: Why Place Matters

April 4, 2024 | 18:00–19:30 BST / 13:00–14:00 EDT / 22:30–00:00 IST

 

Abdul Manan Bhat | Postures of Tradition: Corporeality and Islamic Ethics in Modern Urdu & Persian Poetry

April 5, 2024 |  16:00–17:30 BST / 11:00–12:30 EDT / 20:30–22:00 IST

 

Kashshaf Ghani | Sufism and Religious Interactions from South Asia

April 8, 2024 | 15:00–16:30 BST / 10:00–11:30 EDT / 19:30–21:00 IST

 

Tilak Parekh | Religious Leadership in Interfaith Interactions

April 9, 2024 | 16:00–17:30 BST / 11:00–12:30 EDT / 20:30–22:00 IST

 

Sumaira Nawaz | Reform Unbound: Afghanistan’s Sirāj-ul Aḳhbār (1911-19) and its Global Publics

April 10, 2024 | 16:00–17:30 BST / 11:00–12:30 EDT / 20:30–22:00 IST

 

Supriya Gandhi | Persianate Hinduism in Colonial India: Revisiting Rammohun Roy’s Tuhfat al-muwahhidin

April 12, 2024 | 16:00–17:30 BST / 11:00–12:30 EDT / 20:30–22:00 IST

 

Website: www.interfaith.cam.ac.uk/south-asia-24

Registration Link: https://forms.office.com/e/Z4kN3ahf1i

We envision our colloquium to be brainstorming sessions for examining how interreligious interactions are analysed and theorised in diverse disciplines today, and in what ways do historical sources and ethnographic data from South Asia elaborate such interactions. Some of our presenters have pre-circulated reading materials that would be helpful in understanding their arguments. If you would like to consult these reading materials, please email: trinbarua@gmail.com.

News recenti